America’s Next Bill Clinton!


Unisex baby showers!
September 7, 2007, 3:57 pm
Filed under: baby showers, Feminism, feminists, gender roles, military, misogyny, patriarchy, sexism, unisex

So, sitting here at work, a co-worker just came in all shocked, screaming “God, do you know what I just found out? They do unisex baby showers now!”

He seemed shocked. “Oh, baby showers as I’ve been taught, are for women. They’d come around and play women games and talk about baby stuff. That stuff’s not for men.”

I really don’t know what to think. Do I confront this guy and ask what “women games” are, or do I let it go, or do I talk to him about gender and social construct? This is the same guy who, a few weeks ago, told another co-worker she could come over and cook for him so she can “practice cooking for [her] husband.”

I confronted him, and he said, “You and your feminist crap. It’s just tradition, Marc.”

It’s funny, because in the military, I see a lot of sexism, but most of it is underlined. Then, I hear these people speak and I want to pull out my hair. It’s too bad I am bald.

 One day, I was outside talking to a few people and when we talked about women, and I made the point: “Isn’t it funny what we do for love when we were in our teens?”

A guy said, “Yeah, they say money is the root of all evils. It’s not money, it’s women.” I nearly smacked him.

 Sometimes, I am glad I am leaving the military. I don’t really know how much of it I can really take really bite my tongue on.

 On a different note, I am leaving for California soon. So, it’s a little vacation. This blog takes a vacation, too – unless I run across something really sexist or misogynistic, then I’ll try to find a computer.

I am wearing my “I (heart) pro-choice girls” shirt on the plane. I just want to see how many dirty looks I get.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Heh. It’s about time men had to experience the horror of baby showers.

Comment by Mary

Co-ed baby showers are usually much more like a regular party or bbq, except for the gift-opening part. Usually the hosts won’t subject guys to the silly games that even most women don’t like having to participate in. However I do take offense at the idea that somehow it’s impossible for men to be excited about baby stuff.

I think I’d want to slap that guy if I heard him making comments like those.

And LOL at the t-shirt!

Comment by Marcy

When we have kids, my husband and I are totally having co-ed baby showers. I love the idea of having a bbq style party with a big group of friends. I hate stupid games anyway so I wouldn’t want to subject anyone to that, male or female.

I’d love to hear about the reactions to your tshirt (if there are any). Report back!

Comment by Sunny

Lol at the tshirt, though it would probably be misinterpreted. People who see it would more likely read “yay! I don’t have to wear a condom.”

Comment by RJ




Leave a Reply

